SHR News Archive


Stewart-Haas Racing: 2014 Texas I Race Report

Apr. 07, 2014

Event:             Duck Commander 500 (Round 7 of 36)

Series:             NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Location:        Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth (1.5-mile oval)

Winner:           Joey Logano of Team Penske in a green-white-checkered finish (Ford)


SHR Finish:    Tony Stewart (Started 1st, Finished 10th / Running, completed 340 of 340 laps)

                        Danica Patrick (Started 24th, Finished 27th / Running, completed 338 of 340 laps)

Kurt Busch (Started 11th, Finished 39th / Accident, completed 327 of 340 laps)                     

Kevin Harvick (Started 3rd, Finished 42nd / Engine, completed 28 of 340 laps)


SHR Points:    Tony Stewart (14th with 189 points, 70 out of first)

Kurt Busch (25th with 151 points, 108 out of first)

Kevin Harvick (26th with 138 points, 121 out of first)

                        Danica Patrick (29th with 121 points, 138 out of first)


Tony Stewart, driver of the No. 14 Mobil 1/Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet SS, led the four-car Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) contingent Monday at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth by finishing 10th in the rain-postponed Duck Commander 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race.


Stewart started from the pole and led three times for 74 laps en route to his third top-10 of 2014 and his 13th top-10 in 24 career Sprint Cup starts at Texas. Stewart is now the all-time Sprint Cup lap leader at Texas with 801 total laps led, 26 more than next-best Matt Kenseth.


Danica Patrick, driver of the No. 10 GoDaddy/Get Found Chevrolet SS for SHR, started 24th and finished 27th. It was Patrick’s 53rd career Sprint Cup start and her fourth at Texas.


Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 41 Haas Automation Chevrolet SS for SHR, started 11th and finished 39th as two flat tires conspired against him.


Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Jimmy John’s Chevrolet SS for SHR, started third and finished 42nd after suffering an engine problem only 28 laps into the race.


Joey Logano won the Duck Commander 500 to score his fourth career Sprint Cup victory, his first of the season and his first at Texas. He is the seventh different winner in the seven races held this season.


Jeff Gordon finished .476 of a second behind Logano in the runner-up spot, while Kyle Busch, Brian Vickers and Kyle Larson rounded out the top-five. Greg Biffle, Kenseth, Clint Bowyer, Paul Menard and Stewartcomprised the remainder of the top-10.


There were seven caution periods for 49 laps, with five drivers failing to finish the 340-lap race, which was extended six laps by a green-white-checkered finish.


With round seven of 36 complete, Stewart leads the SHR contingent in the championship point standings. He is 14th with 189 points, 70 behind new series leader Gordon. Busch is 25th with 151 points, 108 out of first. Harvick is 26th with 138 points, 121 out of first. Patrick is 29th with 121 points, 138 out of first.


The next event on the Sprint Cup schedule is the Southern 500 on Saturday, April 12 at Darlington (S.C) Raceway. The race starts at 6:30 p.m. EDT, with live coverage provided by FOX beginning with its prerace show at 6 p.m.